In the online dating community the most common asked question is “Will I lose matches if I uninstall Tinder?” Are you worried that uninstalling Tinder will  lose all of your matches? Did you accidentally uninstall the app? Are you panicking as you read this? Don’t worry we’ll sort you out in a bit and help you understand if you’ll be losing your matches or not when you uninstall Tinder.

Tinder is the holy grail of dating apps. It is successfully available in almost every country with the largest dating app userbase. Additionally, It has one of the most successful business models, which has led to Tinder’s substantial growth.

Matches are Tinder’s way of connecting different users. It is the foundation of the app. Many famous dating apps like Bumble have copied this filtering method. Matches are the only way to communicate with anyone else on this app. Thus, it can be worrying if you don’t know whether deleting Tinder will delete your matches too. Rest assured, “Will I lose matches if I uninstall Tinder?” is a commonly asked question.

Can I Uninstall Tinder Without Losing Matches?

uninstall Tinder

Yes! as a matter of fact, according to Tinder on Twitter, you will not lose any matches when you delete and reinstall the Tinder app. Simply uninstalling an app like Tinder will not delete any matches or other personal information you have inside the app. 

When you re-download and install the app, you need to put in your username and password. Once your credentials are in, it will be like the Tinder app never left your phone.

What Happens if I Uninstall Tinder?

lose matches on uninstalling Tinder

As you probably know, Tinder requires the internet to work. The internet allows Tinder to show you all its databases. Therefore, all of the information you are viewing including your own, is stored in Tinder’s online server. 

Removing the Tinder app on your phone will simply remove the information from your phone’s local data directory. This is helpful because of the limited space available on mobile devices. If you don’t have an active or installed app, the phone finds this information useless and deletes it locally to save room for future apps.

All your matches are inside Tinder’s online server, locked behind your username and password. Having this sort of setup by Tinder also enables you to carry on your account to different or newer devices. 

Do Your Matches Go Away if you Delete Tinder?

Tinder lose matches

As we discussed before, Tinder stores all your information including matches within their servers. You can access your account using your username and password. So, if deleting the Tinder app won’t delete your matches, how can you permanently delete them from the server? This is an excellent question to ask yourself if you’ve decided to remove yourself from the online dating game.

The answer to this is quite simple. You need to deactivate or permanently delete your account. After all, permanently deleting your account means completely and totally deletion with all its information, likes chats, and matches from the app server.

Permanently Uninstalling and Deleting Your Tinder Account

For protection and security measures , you’ll have to delete your Tinder account while signed in to the app on your mobile or Tinder.com on a PC or a laptop. Please remember, when you delete your account you will irrevocably lose matches, messages, and other info associated with it. To remove your account: 

  1. Firstly, Sign in to the Tinder app or Tinder.com
  2. Secondly, Tap or click the profile icon
  3. Go to the Settings tab
  4. Find and select Delete Account

Deleting the Tinder app does not erase your account. If you have bought a Tinder subscription using your Apple ID or Google Play Store ID please note that

  1. Deleting the app and/or your account does not invalidate your membership .
  2. If you registered on Android or Tinder for web (Tinder.com) with your credit card, deleting your account will  offset your subscription automatically.

The reason behind this is not very different from when your phone deletes Tinder’s local data. On deletion, your profile Tinder assumes you are done using their service. Hence, there is no reason to keep sensitive personal information like matches and chats due to long-term storage and security issues.

In the end, it is better for Tinder just to delete your information. If you want to resume your matching activities, you need to create a new account and start again from scratch.

Final Thoughts on “Will I lose matches if I Uninstall Tinder?”

You now have a firm grasp over the mechanics of Tinder matches. We hope this quick guide helped out your concern of uninstalling Tinder and losing all your matches.

Additionally, we have solutions for other Tinder related issues like 5 Easy Fixes to Solve Tinder Error Code 40314 and 5 Easy Fixes to Solve Tinder Error Code 40314 here.