Whether you’re playing Red Dead Redemption 2 on Xbox or Playstation, you need to know the answer to the question; ‘If I uninstall Red Dead Redemption 2 will I lose everything?’ if you are thinking about uninstalling your current game off of your console.
You are now able to purchase Red Dead Redemption 2 as a physical or digital copy, as well as being able to receive an online version. Whichever version of the game you are using, there are concerns about whether or not you will lose your saved data if you uninstall the game.
We have created this easy-to-follow guide to help you understand everything you need to know about whether or not you will lose everything when you uninstall your Red Dead Redemption 2 game.
If I uninstall Red Dead Redemption 2 will I lose everything
If you uninstall Red Dead Redemption 2 off of your console, you will not lose everything.
All your saved data that you have made on your Red Dead Redemption account is saved to the cloud, separate from the game data, and gets automatically saved as you progress through the different stages.
The only way you will lose your progress on your game is if you factory reset your console, or if you purposefully go into your storage settings and delete all your saved data.
Uninstalling Red Dead Redemption 2 off of your console, whether it’s an Xbox, Playstation, or Windows, will delete the application off of the device and nothing else.
Whether you are playing RDR2 via Rockstar or Steam, if you have ensured the cloud saves are enabled, you will not lose your progress.
This includes your;
- Current missions
How many saves can you have in RDR2
Red Dead Redemption 2 gives you the availability to be able to save multiple save files for your game, that will be kept in the cloud.
When it comes to uninstalling the game off of your console all saved files will stay intact for when you come to reinstall the game again and access your files, as you own the game.
Does uninstalling a game on Xbox delete saved data
If you are playing Red Dead Redemption 2 on Xbox, and uninstall your game, you will not lose any of your single-player progress.
The game will be removed from your console, creating more space for other downloads.
Your saved data is connected to your profile, which does not get removed when uninstalling a game.
How do you uninstall a game on Xbox without losing data
Step 1. Go onto your ‘Home’ screen
Step 2. Select ‘My Games and Apps’
Step 3. Go into ‘Games’ and Find Red Dead Redemption 2 to click on it
Step 4. Scroll down and choose ‘Manage Game’
Step 5. Make sure you now select the game on the left-hand side
Step 6. Click on ‘Uninstall’
You will now still have the saved data for the game on your console, but the game itself will be deleted.
Note, the game will be under ‘Ready to Install’ when you want to reinstall it.
- If I Uninstall Snapchat Will I Lose Everything: All You Need To Know
- If I Uninstall Battlefield 5 Will I Lose Everything: All You Need To Know
The same goes for playing Red Dead Redemption 2 on PC and PS4.
All your saved data will be saved to the cloud and not directly on the application.
On Windows 10
If you are playing on Windows 10, you can take extra measures to ensure your saved files do not get lost when you uninstall the game.
Step 1. Go into your ‘Documents’ folder
Step 2. Find ‘Rockstar Games’ and click on ‘Red Dead Redemption 2’
Step 3. Find the folder that states ‘Profile’
Step 4. Click into this folder, and the folder within can be saved elsewhere
You will be able to access this file at a later stage when you come to install the game again, however, after your reinstallation, your saved files should still be available.
Can I uninstall RDR2 online and not lose everything
If you are playing Red Dead Redemption 2 online, your data will be saved to the server.
After each activity you complete on the online game, your game will be saved automatically as you will not be able to manually save your progress.
The saves will be completed at different points in the game;
- When you begin a mission
- The end of a mission
- Your character is resting
- You can initiate a save when you purchase or sell something
This ensures you do not lose any of your progress while you are pursuing missions, and moving forward in the game.
What happens if I delete my character in Red Dead Redemption 2 online
If you are playing RDR2 online and you are worried about losing your saved data, there is only one way in which you will lose part of your saved game data.
This is if you deliberately delete your character from the game.
So, what will you lose if you delete your character?
- All progress will be lost
- Your ranking will be gone
- All gold accumulated throughout the game
- Weapons and mounts
The money you have for your current character will be moved over to your new one.
Red Dead Redemption 2 does not allow you to create a second character when you already have a current one active. If for some reason you have decided you want to change your character, you will need to remove all the current data for it.
Red Dead Redemption is available across all console platforms, as well as PC for you to be able to enjoy.
With all the missions available to complete, and rankings to improve on, you don’t want to be losing any of your progress when it comes to needing to uninstall your game.
We hope this guide has assisted you in understanding what happens if you were to uninstall your Red Dead Redemption 2 game and that you are able to carry on playing on your desired device without any further concerns.
You can make use of Rockstar’s support page for anything else you may be wanting to query.