Are you feeling like you are in need of a social media detox, but worried if you uninstall Facebook, you will lose everything?
Uninstalling the app off of your device will not erase your profile from the Facebook server. All your images, posts and saved settings will be stored for you, for however long it takes for you to re-access your account.
With this easy to ready guide, we will help you understand the difference between uninstalling, deleting, or deactivating your Facebook account, and how each one differs, so you will fully comprehend which option is better suited for you.
If I uninstall Facebook will I lose everything?
If you uninstall Facebook you will not lose everything. All your images, albums and preferred settings will be saved in the cloud, and be re-accessible when you reinstall the Facebook app onto your device. If you remove the Facebook app off of your mobile, you are only removing how you log into your account. There is a difference between deleting and deactivating your Facebook account.
Once you uninstall Facebook off of your device, you will need to reinstall the app to log back into your account, however, you will still be able to access the social media platform through your web browser.
Even though you have uninstalled the app off of your device, your profile will still be visible to your Facebook friends, and other individuals will be able to search for your profile.
- Your account will still be searchable
- Friends will be able to tag you in posts
- Posts can be added to your wall
- All your photos and albums will be available
- Saved settings will stay in place
- Friends can still mention you in comments
- Your previous posts and pictures can still get reacted to
What happens if I uninstall Facebook and then reinstall it?
If you have decided you want to reinstall your Facebook app back onto your device, all you will need to do is redownload the app from your app store and log back into your account.
If you have forgotten your Facebook password, you may need to reset it with your recovery email address.
Once you log back into your account, any activity that has included your profile will be in your notifications tab. This will include any friend requests, mentions, or comments on your posts.
No data would have been lost from your account.
Can I still use Messenger if I delete Facebook app?
Yes, you will still be able to use Facebook Messenger after you have uninstalled the Facebook app off of your device.
Facebook Messenger has its application software and will work independently, even if you have deactivated your Facebook profile.
Do you need a Facebook account to have Messenger?
You would need to have an activated Facebook account to use the Messenger app, as your credentials used to log into Facebook will be the same for Messenger, however, you can then deactivate your Facebook account and carry on using the messaging app.
Is uninstalling Facebook the same as deleting?
Uninstalling and deleting Facebook are two very different actions that will involve opposed results. When you uninstall Facebook off of your device, all you are doing is removing the front end of your profile, with the back end still saved in the cloud. If you delete Facebook, you will be getting rid of all your saved data, and remove all your information from the Facebooks server.
As we have already confirmed, uninstalling Facebook will not remove your data from Facebook’s cloud. All your saved settings and content will still be stored on Facebook’s server.
What happens when I delete my Facebook account?
If you have decided you want to delete your Facebook account, you will not be able to reactivate your profile. All of your saved profile settings, images and posts will be removed off of the Facebook server.
Any pages you created on Facebook will be linked to your account, and therefore deleted off of Facebook (you would need give someone else controls over the page).
Once your Facebook account has been deleted, you will be unable to use Facebook Messenger, and any other apps you were using with Facebook login details will be unavailable.
If you use your Facebook account to access your Oculus profile, and you delete Facebook, it will remove your Oculus information. This will include all of your in-app purchases and achievements.
Note, Facebook will pause the deletion of your account for a couple of days in the event that you change your mind. Your deletion request will be null and void if you log into your account during this time.
How do I delete my Facebook account?
Step 1. Access ‘Settings and Privacy’
Step 2. Click on ‘Settings’
Step 3. Now press ‘Your Facebook Information’ (this could be under privacy)
Step 4. Select ‘Deactivation and Deletion’
Step 5. Confirm by clicking ‘Delete Account’
You will be asked to enter your password.
Facebook will give you a 30 day grace period to cancel your deletion request after 30 days you will be unable to get your account reinstated.
What happens when I deactivate my Facebook account?
If you decide you want to deactivate your account, you will be able to reinstate your profile at a later stage. All your photos and posts will stay stored on the Facebook server.
You will still have access to your Facebook Messenger app, and people will still be able to message you.
However, your Facebook profile will be hidden, and other account users will be unable to search for your account.
If you have opted to log into other applications with your Facebook details (eg; Pinterest) you will still be able to log into these platforms without having to update your credentials.
On Oculus, you will be unable to access their products or your own information.
If you created any pages under your profile, these will be removed.
How do I deactivate my Facebook account?
Step 1. Open ‘Settings and Privacy’
Step 2. Click on ‘Settings’
Step 3. Access ‘Your Facebook Information’
Step 4. Select ‘Deactivation and Deletion’
Step 5. Confirm by choosing ‘Deactivation’
Follow the on screen instructions to confirm.
How do I reactivate my Facebook account?
If you have deactivated your account, and you have decided you now want to reactivate your account, you can do this by downloading the Facebook app, or accessing the login page through your web browser.
All you will need to do is log back into your account with the same credentials you used to register your profile.
With our extensive guide, we hope you now confidently know that you will not lose everything if you uninstall Facebook.
If you were thinking about deactivating, or deleting your account, we hope we were able to direct you by helping you understand the difference between the two, and what each process involves.
If you are experiencing issues with your Facebook account after a deactivation, or you have changed your mind about deleting your profile, you can contact Facebook directly.
You can email them at email@example.com.
Keep in mind, if Facebook’s server is down, this will impede how well your service will work, and may interfere with certain functions operating properly.
If you have any other queries or concerns, you can use the ‘Help and Support’ tab under your profile. You can also check out Facebooks Help Centre.